Scan-ICT is an initiative launched by the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the Government of Finland to make available quality data on ICT activities in Africa. It will create an enabling environment for the compilation of ICT indicators to be part of the activities of National Statistical Offices.
Phase I
Scan-ICT Phase I started in November 2000 and ended in 2004, it involved six African countries, namely: Ghana, Senegal, Morocco, Uganda, Mozambique and Ethiopia. During 2004 a set of CORE ICT indicators was initiated and was finally adopted by the Second African Preparatory Conference for the World Summit of the Information Society in February 2005.
Phase II
Scan-ICT Phase II was launched in 2005. It is built upon the experiences of the Phase I programme, following which, it was decided that the methodologies on core indicators and frameworks should be under the coordination of National Statistical Offices. Mauritius is participating in Phase II together with other countries such as: Cameroon, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Mozambique, Rwanda, Swaziland and Tunisia.
ICT Indicators